Skip to content


Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 052143968X

ISBN-13: 9780521439688

Edition: 1998

Authors: Martin Heidegger, William McNeil, William McNeil

List price: $46.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


This is the first time that a seminal collection of 14 essays by Heidegger has appeared in English in its complete form. The volume includes new or first-time translations of seven essays, and thoroughly revised, updated versions of the other seven.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $46.99
Copyright year: 1998
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 4/28/1998
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 400
Size: 5.91" wide x 9.06" long x 0.98" tall
Weight: 1.188
Language: English

Martin Heidegger was born in Messkirch, Baden, Germany on September 22, 1889. He studied Roman Catholic theology and philosophy at the University of Frieburg before joining the faculty at Frieburg as a teacher in 1915. Eight years later Heidegger took a teaching position at Marburg. He taught there until 1928 and then went back to Frieburg as a professor of philosophy. As a philosopher, Heidegger developed existential phenomenology. He is still widely regarded as one of the most original philosophers of the 20th century. Influenced by other philosophers of his time, Heidegger wrote the book, Being in Time, in 1927. In this work, which is considered one of the most important philosophical…    

WILLIAM F. MCNEIL is from North Attleboro, Massachusetts, and is a graduate of Northeastern University. He has been following the Boston Red Sox for over sixty years. Since 1980 he has wintered in Florida and frequently attends major league spring training camp. Fifteen of his eighteen published books are on baseball, including The Dodgers Encyclopedia (2003).

Editor�s Preface
Preface to the German edition
Comments on Karl Jaspers�s Psychology of Worldviews (1919-21)
Phenomenology and Theology (1927)
From the Last Marburg Lecture Course (1928)
What is Metaphysics? (1929)
On the Essence of Ground (1929)
On the Essence of Truth (1930)
Plato�s Doctrine of Truth (1931/32, 1940)
On the Essence and Concept in Aristotle�s Physics B, 1 (1939)
Postscript to �What is Metaphysics?� (1943)
Letter on Humanism (1946)
Introduction to �What is Metaphysics?� (1949)
On the Question of Being (1955)
Hegel and the Greeks (1958)
Kant�s Thesis About Being (1961)
Notes References
Editor�s postscript to the German edition