Skip to content

Brahms 2 Biographical, Documentary and Analytical Studies

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 0521326060

ISBN-13: 9780521326063

Edition: 1987

Authors: Michael Musgrave

List price: $95.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


This second volume of Brahms studies contains twelve contributions by leading international authorities on various music. Like the preceding volume of the same title (edited by Robert Pascall), Michael Musgrave's volume aims to provide original scholarly material on different facets of a major composer still inadequately discussed in book form and employs more precise methods of analysis and more critical approaches to materials then generally available in writings on Brahms in English. Half of the volume takes the music itself as focus, though from very different vantage points. There are two studies of a single opus (the two String Quartets Op. 51 Nos, 1 and 2), discussions of the Fourth…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $95.99
Copyright year: 1987
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 4/16/1987
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 264
Size: 5.98" wide x 8.98" long x 0.91" tall
Weight: 1.188

Brahms and England
The establishment of a Brahms repertoire 1980 1902
New light on the Brahms
Brahms's 'Way': a composer's self-view
Brahms's posthumous compositions and arrangements: editorial problems and questions of authenticity
Brahms's links with German Renaissance music: a discussion of selected choral works
Brahms's Missa canonica and its recomposition in his Motet 'Warum' Op. 74 No. 1
The String Quartets Op. 51 No. 1 in C minor and No. 2 in A minor: a preface
Two of a kind? Brahms's Op. 51 finales
Motivic design and structural levels in the first movement of Brahms's String Quartet in C minor
The 'Sceptred Pall': Brahm's progressive harmony
Brahms the indecisive: notes on the first movement of the Fourth Symphony
Appendix: exhibition handlist