Complete Symphonies in Full Score

ISBN-10: 0486230538

ISBN-13: 9780486230535

Edition: Reprint 

List price: $19.95 Buy it from $17.94
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


New Starting from $18.80
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Sociology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $19.95
Publisher: Dover Publications, Incorporated
Publication date: 6/1/1974
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 344
Size: 9.50" wide x 12.50" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 2.2
Language: English

A composer, pianist, and conductor, Johannes Brahms was born in Hamburg, Germany. Possessing a talent that could have taken him in any musical direction, he chose the piano and composing. He made his debut as a pianist at the age of 14. In 1853 Brahms met the German composer Robert Schumann, who regarded Brahms as a genius. Schumann and his wife Clara, a noted concert pianist, became Brahms's lifelong friends. In 1862 Brahms moved to Vienna, where his talents as a composer reached full flower. The music of Brahms shows great respect for the form and structure of eighteenth-century classicism, yet it also incorporates the romantic style that was typical of the nineteenth century. Brahms is considered a giant among nineteenth-century composers of chamber music and symphonies. Among his 24 published chamber-music works are a piano trio in B, opus 8 (1854); two string quartets; two piano quartets; and a piano quintet in F minor, opus 34a (1864). He composed four great symphonies: Symphony in C Minor (completed in1876), Symphony in D Minor (1877), Symphony in F Major (1883), and Symphony in E Minor (1885). While classic in structure and design, Brahms's symphonies are romantic in their musical language and sound. Nonetheless, they exhibit feelings of repose that illustrate a return to discipline and a revival of order and form, indicative of changes in music to come in the 1900s. Today, many of the works of Brahms are staples of the concert repertoire. Brahms died in 1897.

Editor's Preface (Revisionsbericht)
Symphony No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 68
Un poco sostenuto. Allegro
Andante sostenuto
Un poco Allegretto e grazioso
Adagio. Piu andante. Allegro non troppo, ma con brio
Symphony No. 2 in D Major, Op. 73
Allegro non troppo
Adagio non troppo
Allegretto grazioso (Quasi Andantino). Presto ma non assai
Allegro con spirito
Symphony No. 3 in F Major, Op. 90
Allegro con brio
Poco Allegretto
Symphony No. 4 in E Minor, Op. 98
Allegro non troppo
Andante moderato
Allegro giocoso
Allegro energico e passionato
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.