Complete String Quartets

ISBN-10: 0486223612

ISBN-13: 9780486223612

Edition: 2008 (Reprint)

List price: $24.95 Buy it from $13.75
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


Breitkopf & Hrtel edition. 6 quartets of Opus 18; 3 quartets of Opus 59; Opera 74, 95, 127, 130, 131, 132, 135 and Grosse Fuge. Study score.
Used Starting from $13.75
New Starting from $20.12
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $24.95
Copyright year: 2008
Publisher: Dover Publications, Incorporated
Publication date: 6/1/1970
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 448
Size: 9.38" wide x 12.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 2.794
Language: English

Ludwig van Beethoven was born in Bonn, Germany, in 1770. His father Johann van Beethoven, a court musician and tenor, recognized early on that his son had great promise. Young Beethoven gave his first piano recital when he was 7 years old. After a period of training in piano, he enjoyed a career as a musician with the Bonn orchestra until 1787 when he left to study in Vienna with the famous Mozart. He was called back to Bonn almost immediately upon the death of his mother and assumed the major responsibility for caring for his family. In 1792 he returned to Vienna where he studied with Haydn, Albrechtsberger, Schenck, and Salieri. Beethoven gained a reputation as a pianist esteemed for brilliant improvisations. He was much admired by members of court, and patrons supported him as he continued to study and compose works of his own. As early as 1798 Beethoven noted a hearing loss that by 1818 left him completely deaf. Unable to admit his affliction, he withdrew from the public and distanced himself from family and friends. Contemplating ending his life, Beethoven finally confessed his illness to his brothers. Slowly, he began to communicate in writing with close friends. His letters are called the conversation notebooks, some of which survive today. There has been speculation about the identity of his Immortal Beloved addressed in the love letters, which were found after his death in March 1827. Beethoven's major output consists of nine symphonies, seven concertos, seventeen string quartets, thirty-two piano sonatas, ten sonatas for violin and piano, five sonatas for cello and piano, one opera, two masses, several overtures and numerous sets of piano variations, including the famous Fifth Symphony and Moonlight Sonata. Beethoven is considered one of the greatest composers of all time and his music remains part of our rich cultural heritage.

Quartet No. 1 in F Major, Op. 18, No. 1
Quartet No. 2 in G Major, Op. 18, No. 2
Quartet No. 3 in D Major, Op. 18, No. 3
Quartet No. 4 in C Minor, Op. 18, No. 4
Quartet No. 5 in A Major, Op. 18, No. 5
Quartet No. 6 in B-flat Major, Op. 18, No. 6
Quartet No. 7 in F Major, Op. 59, No. 1
Quartet No. 8 in E Minor, Op. 59, No. 2
Quartet No. 9 in C Major, Op. 59, No. 3
Quartet No. 10 in E-flat Major, Op. 74
Quartet No. 11 in F Minor, Op. 95
Quartet No. 12 in E-flat Major, Op. 127
Quartet No. 13 in B-flat Major, Op. 130
Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp Minor, Op. 131
Quartet No. 15 in A Minor, Op. 132
Quartet No. 16 in F Major, Op. 135
Grosse Fuge in B-flat Major, Op. 133
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.