Skip to content

Norton Anthology of Contemporary Fiction

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0393968332

ISBN-13: 9780393968330

Edition: 2nd 1998

Authors: R. V. Cassill, Joyce Carol Oates

Shipping box This item qualifies for FREE shipping.
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Customers also bought

Book details

Edition: 2nd
Copyright year: 1998
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
Publication date: 10/17/1997
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 576
Size: 5.75" wide x 8.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.518
Language: English

Linda Chapman has written over 50 children's fiction books, including the following series: My Secret Unicorn, Stardust, Not Quite a Mermaid, and Unicorn School. She lives in Leicestershire with her husband and daughters.

Joyce Carol Oates was born in 1938 in Upstate, New York. She attended Syracuse University and graduated as Valedictorian. She then attended University of Wisconsin where she earned an M. A. By the time she was 47 years old, she had published at least that many separate books, including 16 full-length novels and more than a dozen collections of short stories. Some of her works were done under the pseudonym Rosamund Smith. She has also written numerous poems collected in several volumes, at least three plays, many critical essays, and articles and reviews on various subjects while fulfilling her obligations as a professor of English at the University of Windsor, where with her husband Raymond Smith she edited the Ontario Review, which the couple has continued since moving to Princeton in 1978. She has earned a reputation as indubitably one of our most prolific writers and very likely one of our best. Her fiction alone demonstrates considerable variety, ranging from direct naturalism to complex experiments in form. However, what chiefly makes her work her own is a quality of psychological realism, an uncanny ability to bring to the surface an underlying sense of foreboding or a threat of violence that seems to lurk just around the corner from the everyday domestic lives she depicts so realistically. Her first six novels, including Them (1969), which won the National Book Award, express these qualities in varying ways. she is also the recipient of an NEA grant, a Guggenheim fellowship, the PEN/Malamud Lifetime Achievement Award, and the F. Scott Fitzgerald Award for Lifetime Achievement in American Literature. Her title Give Me Your Heart made the New York Times Best seller list for 2011.

The Rudy Elmenhurst Story
The Man from Mars
The Indian Uprising
The Cinderella Waltz
Descent of Man
One Holy Night
The Babysitter
Murphy's Xmas
A Father's Story
Pet Milk
Saint Marie
Rock Springs
A Very Old Man with Enormous Wings
An Evening Performance
In the Heart of the Heart of the Country
The Wizard
Putting a Child to Bed
In the Cemetery Where Al Jolson Is Buried
Cowboys Are My Weakness
The Black Lights
Follow the Eagle
The New Atlantis
No Trace
Love Life
The Tenant
Wild Swans
Bad Girls
The Things They Carried
Emotion Recollected in Tranquillity
Rules of the Game
A Death in the Family
The Other
Going to Russia
Everyday Use
Taking Care
In the Garden of the North American Martyrs
Biographical Sketches
Permissions Acknowledgments