Mozart at the Gateway to His Fortune Serving the Emperor, 1788-1791

ISBN-10: 039305070X

ISBN-13: 9780393050707

Edition: 2012

Authors: Christoph Wolff

List price: $21.99
eBook available
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


I now stand at the gateway to my fortune, Mozart wrote in a letter of 1790. He had entered into the service of Emperor Joseph II of Austria two years earlier as Imperial-Royal Chamber Composer—a salaried appointment with a distinguished title and few obligations. His extraordinary subsequent output, beginning with the three final great symphonies from the summer of 1788, invites a reassessment of this entire period of his life. Readers will gain a new appreciation and understanding of the composer’s works from that time without the usual emphasis on his imminent death. The author discusses the major biographical and musical implications of the royal appointment and explores Mozart’s imperial style on the basis of his major compositions—keyboard,chamber, orchestral, operatic, and sacred—and focuses on the large, unfamiliar works he left incomplete. This new perspective points to an energetic, fresh beginning for the composer and a promising creative and financial future.
eBooks Starting from $27.95
Buy eBooks
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Terminology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Math Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $21.99
Copyright year: 2012
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company Limited
Publication date: 6/26/2012
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 5.75" wide x 8.50" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.880
Language: English

He is a William Powell Mason Professor of Music at Harvard University, is coauthor of the Bach Compendium.

Prologue: Mozart, 1788 to 1791-An Inevitable End or a New Beginning?
Imperial Appointments: Mozart and Salieri
Time for Change
Prolific under Discouraging Conditions
Toward Spirited Partnership
Explorations Outside of Vienna
Traveling Again
Frankfurt, 1790: The Self-Styled Ambassador
Leipzig and Berlin, 1789
Bach Circles at Home and Abroad
Grand Ambitions: Expanding Compositional Horizons
A Musical Announcement
A Garden Apartment for a Bold Start
The Notion of "Imperial Style"
"Vera Opera" and The Magic Flute
What's in a Name?
More than an Egyptian Opera
The Language of "Grand Opera"
"The Higher Pathetic Style of Church Music" and the Requiem
An Auspicious Prospect
A Timely Commission
Envisioning a New Kind of Sacred Music
"Composed, Just Not Yet 'Written"-Music Never to Be Heard
A Self-Assured Prodigy
Work in Progress: The Fragments
Windows Ajar: Fleeting Sounds of Chamber Music
Appendix: Currency and Monetary Values
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.