New Selected Poems

ISBN-10: 0375711279

ISBN-13: 9780375711275

Edition: N/A

Authors: Mark Strand, Mark Strand

List price: $23.00 Buy it from $10.76
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


FromSleeping with One Eye Open(1964) through the wonderful middle work that includesThe Continuous Life(1990) and crowned by the Pulitzer PrizewinningBlizzard of One(1998) and his most recent new collection,Man and Camel(2006), this book gives us an essential selection of Mark Strand's poetry from across the entire span of his remarkable career to date.
Used Starting from $12.99
New Starting from $18.83
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Italian Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $23.00
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 1/13/2009
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 288
Size: 6.00" wide x 8.75" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.100
Language: English

Mark Strand was born on April 11, 1934 in Summerside on Prince Edward Island in Canada. Since his father's job resulted in many transfers, he spent his childhood in Cleveland, Halifax, Montreal, New York and Philadelphia and his teenage years in Colombia, Mexico and Peru. He received a bachelor's degree at Antioch College in Ohio in 1957, a bachelor of fine arts in painting from Yale University School of Art and Architecture in 1959, and a master of fine arts from the Iowa Writers' Workshop in 1962. He studied 19th-century Italian poetry in Florence on a Fulbright Grant from 1960-1961. His first poetry collection, Sleeping with One Eye Open, was published in 1964. His other works included Reasons for Moving, Darker, The Story of Our Lives, The Late Hour, A Continuous Life, Dark Harbor, and Collected Poems: Mark Strand. In 1990, he was named the fourth Poet Laureate of the United States. He received the Bollingen Prize for Poetry in 1993 and the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1999 for Blizzard of One. In 1980, he felt that he had reached an impasse and stopped writing poetry for several years. During that time, he wrote several children's books including The Planet of Lost Things and Mr. and Mrs. Baby. He also wrote books on the painters EdwardHopper and William Bailey, and a collection of critical essays entitled The Art of the Real. He died of liposarcoma on November 29, 2014 at the age of 80.

From Sleeping with One Eye Open
Sleeping with One Eye Open
When the Vacation Is Over for Good
Violent Storm Old
People on the Nursing
Home Porch Keeping Things Whole
The Whole Story
The Tunnel from
Reasons for Moving
The Mailman
The Accident
The Man in the Tree
The Man in the Mirror
The Ghost Ship Moontan
What to Think
Of The Marriage Eating Poetry
The Dirty Hand from Darker
The New Poetry Handbook
The Remains Giving Myself Up
The Room Letter Nostalgia Tomorrow
The Dress
The Good Life Black Maps
Coming to This The Sleep Breath
The Prediction From a Litany
My Life My Life by Somebody Else Courtship Not Dying
The Way It Is from The Story of Our Lives
Elegy for My Father In Celebration
The Story of Our Lives
The Untelling
The Monument from The Late Hour
The Coming of Light Another Place Lines for Winter
My Son For Jessica, My Daughter
From The Long Sad Party
The Late Hour The Story
For Her So You Say Poor North Pot Roast
The House in French Village
The Garden Snowfall from Selected Poems
Shooting Whales Nights in Hackett's Cove
A Morning My Mother on an Evening in Late
Summer from The Continuous Life
The Idea Velocity Meadows
A.M. Orpheus Alone Fiction Luminism Life in the Valley
The Continuous Life Always Se la vita � sventura . . . ?
One Winter Night
The History of Poetry
The Continental College of Beauty
The Midnight Club
The Famous Scene Itself Now Reading in Place
From Blizzard of One
The Beach Hotel Old Man Leaves Party
I Will Love the Twenty-first Century
The Next Time The Night, the Porch Our
Masterpiece Is the Private Life Morning, Noon, and Night
A Piece of the Storm A Suite of Appearances
Here Two de Chiricos
Some Last Words In Memory of Joseph Brodsky
What It Was The Delirium Waltz
The View from Man and Camel
The King I Had Been a Polar
Explorer Man and Camel Fire
The Rose Storm Afterwords Elevator
Black Sea Mother and Son Mirror Moon Marsyas
My Name Poem After the Seven Last Words
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.