Skip to content


Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0375411755

ISBN-13: 9780375411755

Edition: 2001

Authors: Gwyn Jones, John Updike, Thomas Jones, Everyman's Library Staff

List price: $22.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Preface by John Updike The 11 stories of The Mabinogion, first assembled on paper in the fourteenth century, reach far back into the earlier oral traditions of Welsh poetry. Closely linked to the Arthurian legends--King Arthur himself is a character--they summon up a world of mystery and magic that is still evoked by the Welsh landscape they so vividly describe. Mingling fantasy with tales of chivalry, these stories not only prefigure the later medieval romances, but stand on their own as magnificent evocations of a golden age of Celtic civilization. This translation of The Mabinogion has, since its first appearance in 1949, been recognized as a classic in its own right. It was last…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $22.00
Copyright year: 2001
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 2/13/2001
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 304
Size: 5.25" wide x 8.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.990
Language: English

Gwyn Jones was professor of English Language and Literature, University College of Wales.

American novelist, poet, and critic John Updike was born in Reading, Pennsylvania on March 18, 1932. He received an A.B. degree from Harvard University, which he attended on a scholarship, in 1954. After graduation, he accepted a one-year fellowship to study painting at the Ruskin School of Drawing and Fine Art in Oxford, England. After returning from England in 1955, he worked for two years on the staff of The New Yorker. This marked the beginning of a long relationship with the magazine, during which he has contributed numerous short stories, poems, and book reviews. Although Updike's first published book was a collection of verse, The Carpentered Hen and Other Tame Creatures (1958), his…    

Note on the Editors and the Text
Note on Pronunciation of Welsh Names
Select Bibliography
The Four Branches of the Mabinogi
Pwyll Prince of Dyfed
Branwen Daughter of Llyr
Manawydan Son of Llyr
Math Son of Mathonwy
The Four Independent Native Tales
The Dream of Macsen Wledig
Lludd and Llefelys
Culhwch and Olwen
The Dream of Rhonabwy
The Three Romances
The Lady of the Fountain
Peredur Son of Efrawg
Gereint Son of Erbin
Textual Notes
Supplementary Textual Notes
Index of Proper Names