Skip to content

Deep Water The Epic Struggle over Dams, Displaced People, and the Environment

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0312425562

ISBN-13: 9780312425562

Edition: 2007

Authors: Jacques Leslie

List price: $23.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Description:

nbsp; ADiscoverMagazine Top Science Book of the Year nbsp; A Northern California Book Award Finalist nbsp; There are more than 45,000 of them in the world. They have altered the speed of the planet's rotation, the tilt of its axis, and the shape of its gravitational field. They influence landscapes and societies. They are dams, and inDeep Water,Jacques Leslie offers an incisive, searching, and beautifully written account of the emerging crisis over dams and the world's water. Reporting in the tradition of John McPhee and Peter Matthiessen, Leslie examines the crisis through the lives of three people: Medha Patkar, the world's foremost anti-dam activist; Thayer Scudder, an American…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $23.00
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 11/14/2006
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.682
Language: English

<b>Jacques Leslie</b>'s writing has won numerous awards, including the J. Anthony Lukas Work-in-Progress Award for <i>Deep Water</i> and the Sigma Delta Chi Foreign Correspondence Award for his reporting during the Vietnam War. He is the author of <i>The Mark: A War Correspondent's Memoir of Vietnam and Cambodia</i>. He lives in Mill Valley, California.