Skip to content

On Gold Mountain

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0307950395

ISBN-13: 9780307950390

Edition: 2012

Authors: Lisa See

List price: $18.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Out of the stories heard in her childhood in Los Angeles's Chinatown and years of research, See has constructed this sweeping chronicle of her Chinese-American family, a work that takes in stories of racism and romance, entrepreneurial genius and domestic heartache, secret marriages and sibling rivalries, in a powerful history of two cultures meeting in a new world. 82 photos.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $18.95
Copyright year: 2012
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 2/7/2012
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 464
Size: 5.25" wide x 8.25" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.166
Language: English

Lisa See was born in Paris but grew up in Los Angeles, spending much of her time in Chinatown. Her first book, On Gold Mountain: The One Hundred Year Odyssey of My Chinese-American Family (1995), was a national bestseller and a New York Times Notable Book. The book traces the journey of Lisa¿s great-grandfather, Fong See. Her first fiction novel, Flower Net (1997) was a national bestseller, a New York Times Notable Book, and on the Los Angeles Times Best Books List for 1997. Flower Net was also nominated for an Edgar award for best first novel. In addition to writing books, Ms. See was the Publishers Weekly West Coast Correspondent for 13 years.

The Wonder Time, 1866-71
Exclusion, 1872-93
Love, 1894-97
Lo Sang, 1897-1902
Immigration, 1902-13
Family Days, 1914-18
The Home Village, 1919-20
Playboys, 1920-24
The Kidnapping, 1925-28
Depression, 1929-34
Memories: Tyrus Tells His Story
Dragon's Den, 1934-35
Snapshots, 1936-38
Anna May Speaks (from the Grave)
Second Chance, 1939-41
The Mission Family Gets a Daughter-in-Law, 1942-45
Hollow Bamboo, 1946-47
Fire, 1947-50
Another Marriage, 1951-57
Family Means Everything, 1957-95
The Home Village II, Spring 1991