Skip to content

Oxford History of Britain

ISBN-10: 0199579253

ISBN-13: 9780199579259

Edition: 2010

Authors: Kenneth O. Morgan

List price: $11.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


The Oxford History of Britain tells the story of Britain and its people over two thousand years, from the coming of the Roman legions to the present day. Encompassing political, social, economic, and cultural developments throughout the British Isles, the dramatic narrative is taken up in turn by ten leading historians who offer the fruits of the best modern scholarship to the general reader in an authoritative form. A vivid, sometimes surprising picture emerges of a continuous turmoil of change in every period, and the wider social context of political and economic tension is made clear. But consensus, no less than conflict, is a part of the story: in focusing on elements of continuity down the centuries, the authors bring out that special awareness of identity which has been such a distinctive feature of British society. By relating both these factors in the British experience, and by exploring the manyways in which Britain has shaped and been shaped by contact with Europe and the wider world, this landmark work brings the reader face to face with the past, and the foundations of modern British society. The new edition brings the story into the twenty-first century, covering the changes to British society and culture during the Blair years and the invasion of Iraq and its aftermath.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $11.99
Copyright year: 2010
Publisher: Oxford University Press
Publication date: 4/15/2010
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 816
Size: 5.00" wide x 7.75" long x 2.25" tall
Weight: 1.342
Language: English

Kenneth Morgan is Professor of History at Brunel University, London, UK.

Foreword to the new edition
Roman Britain (c.55 BC - c. AD 440)
The Anglo-Saxon Period (c. 440-1066)
The Early Middle Ages (1066-1290)
The Later Middle Ages (1290-1485)
The Tudor Age (1485-1603)
The Stuarts (1603-1688)
The Eighteenth Century (1688-1789)
Revolution and the Rule of Law (1789-1851)
The Liberal Age (1851-1914)
The Twentieth Century (1914-2000)
Epilogue (2000-2010)
Further Reading
Genealogies of Royal Lines
Prime Ministers 1721-2010