Skip to content

New Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0195410254

ISBN-13: 9780195410259

Edition: 2nd 1996 (Revised)

Authors: Margaret Atwood, Robert Weaver, Robert Weaver, Robert Weaver

List price: $30.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


First published in 1987, The Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories was hailed as "a world-class anthology" in The Washington Post Book World and as "a banquet of be savored and enjoyed over and over again" in The Philadelphia Inquirer. Now, in The New Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories, Margaret Atwood and Robert Weaver have compiled an updated anthology that surpasses the original in historical and regional balance while providing fiction lovers with another superb collection of works. Featuring 45 stories, four more than in the first edition--including new stories by 18 of the writers featured in the original--The New Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories offers an engaging survey of Canada's leading writers and finest short stories. Here readers will find gems by such writers as W. P. Kinsella, Morley Callaghan, Timothy Findlay, Matt Cohen, and many others. And of course, there are selections by some of Canada's leading literary lights, including internationally known authors Alice Munro ("The Jack Randa Hotel"), Mavis Gallant ("Scarves, Beads, and Sandals"), and Atwood herself. But perhaps the most exciting feature is the presence of many new writers, including Thomas King, Carol Shields, Rohinton Mistry, and Dionne Brand--writers who underscore Atwood's conviction that the Canadian short story will continue to grow, mutate, re-seed itself, and flourish. The New Oxford Book of Canadian Short Stories, revised and updated, reflects the increasing diversity of the genre and the growing reputation of a new generation of Canadian writers. It belongs on the shelf of all aficionados of short fiction.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $30.00
Edition: 2nd
Copyright year: 1996
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 12/21/1995
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 480
Size: 6.25" wide x 8.50" long x 1.50" tall
Weight: 1.694
Language: English

Born November 18, 1939, in Ottawa, Canada, Margaret Atwood spent her early years in the northern Quebec wilderness. Settling in Toronto in 1946, she continued to spend summers in the northern woods. This experience provided much of the thematic material for her verse. She began her writing career as a poet, short story writer, cartoonist, and reviewer for her high school paper. She received a B.A. from Victoria College, University of Toronto in 1961 and an M.A. from Radcliff College in 1962. Atwood's first book of verse, Double Persephone, was published in 1961 and was awarded the E. J. Pratt Medal. She has published numerous books of poetry, novels, story collections, critical work, juvenile work, and radio and teleplays. Her works include The Journals of Susanna Moodie (1970), Power Politics (1971), Cat's Eye (1986), The Robber Bride (1993), Morning in the Buried House (1995), and Alias Grace (1996). Many of her works focus on women's issues. Atwood is also the author of the MaddAdam trilogy which includes Oryx and Crake, The Year of the Flood, MaddAdam. She has won numerous awards for her poetry and fiction including the Prince of Asturias award for Literature, the Booker Prize, the Governor General's Award in 1966 for The Circle Game and in 1986 for The Handmaid's Tale, which also won the very first Arthur C. Clarke Award in 1987.

Received BS in Chemistry from The College of Wooster in 1964 Postdoctoral work at UC-San Francisco with William RutterAmerican Cancer Society Research Scholar for two years

Haply the Soul of My Grandmother
All the Years of Her Life
The Wedding Gift
The Lamp at Noon
The Old Woman
One-Two-Three Little Indians
Scarves, Beads, Sandals
Something Happened Here
The Mask of the Bear
The Bully
Getting to Williamstown
The Duel in Cluny Park
The Jack Randa Hotel
The End of Summer
Share and Share Alike
The Woman Who Talked to Horses
Where Is the Voice Coming From?
The Hayfield
Shoeless Joe Jackson Comes to Iowa
Milk Bread Beer Ice
Bear Country
As Birds Bring Forth the Sun
The Black Queen
The Years in Exile
True Trash
God Is Not a Fish Inspector
A Class of New Canadians
The Meaning of the Marriage
Flowers for Weddings and Funerals
Trotsky's First Confessions
Celia Behind Me
One Good Story, That One
Deer Heart
For Puzzled in Wisconsin
Swain Corliss, Hero of Malcolm's Mills (Now Oakland, Ontario), November 6, 1814
Making It
We So Seldom Look on Love
Dancing Bear
The Ghost of Firozsha Baag
Sans Souci
Red Plaid Shirt
White Shoulders
Digging Up the Mountains
The Chmarnyk