Skip to content

Composers of the Nazi Era Eight Portraits

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 0195152867

ISBN-13: 9780195152869

Edition: 2002

Authors: Michael H. Kater

List price: $47.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
We're sorry. This item is currently unavailable.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

How does creativity thrive in the face of fascism? How can a highly artistic individual function professionally in so threatening a climate? The final book in a critically acclaimed trilogy that includes Different Drummers (OUP 1992) and The Twisted Muse (OUP 1997), this is a detailed study of the often interrelated careers of eight outstanding German composers who lived and worked amid the dictatorship of the Third Reich: Werner Egk, Paul Hindemith, Kurt Weill, Karl Amadeus Hartmann, Carl Orff, Hans Pfitzner, Arnold Schoenberg, and Richard Strauss. Noted historian Michael H. Kater weighs issues of accommodation and resistance to ask whether these artists corrupted themselves in the service…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $47.95
Copyright year: 2002
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 1/17/2002
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 416
Size: 5.00" wide x 9.00" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.188
Language: English

Werner Egk: The Enigmatic Optimist
Paul Hindemith: The Reluctant Emigri
Kurt Weill: A Survivor on Two Continents
Karl Amadeus Hartmann: The Composer as Dissident
Carl Orff: Man of Legend
Hans Pfitzner: Magister Teutonicus Miser
Arnold Schoenberg: Musician of Contrasts
Richard Strauss: Jupiter Compromised