Skip to content

Life of Langston Hughes, 1941-1967 I Dream a World

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0195146433

ISBN-13: 9780195146431

Edition: 2nd 2001 (Revised)

Authors: Arnold Rampersad

List price: $34.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


February 1, 2002 marks the 100th birthday of Langston Hughes. To commemorate the centennial of his birth, Arnold Rampersad has contributed new Afterwords to both volumes of his highly-praised biography of this most extraordinary and prolific American writer. The second volume in this masterful biography finds Hughes rooting himself in Harlem, receiving stimulation from his rich cultural surroundings. Here he rethought his view of art and radicalism, and cultivated relationships with younger, more militant writers such as Richard Wright, Ralph Ellison, James Baldwin, and Amiri Bakara. Rampersad's Afterword to volume two looks further into his influence and how it expanded beyond the…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $34.99
Edition: 2nd
Copyright year: 2001
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 1/10/2002
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 576
Size: 6.00" wide x 9.00" long x 1.50" tall
Weight: 1.782
Language: English

Still Here (1941)
Jim Crow's Last Stand (1941 to 1943)
Simple Speaks His Mind (1943 to 1944)
Third Degree (1944 to 1945)
Street Scene (1945 to 1947)
Heart on the Wall (1947 to 1948)
On Solid Ground (1948 to 1950)
In Warm Manure (1951 to 1953)
Out from Under (1953 to 1956)
Making Hay (1957 to 1958)
You Are the World (1958 to 1960)
Ask Your Mama! (1960 to 1961)
In Gospel Glory (1961 to 1963)
Blues for Mister Backlash (1963 to 1965)
Final Call (1965 to 1966)
Do Nothing Till You Hear from Me (1966 to 1967)