Skip to content

Symphony A Listener's Guide

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0195126653

ISBN-13: 9780195126655

Edition: 1998 (Reprint)

Authors: Michael Steinberg

Shipping box This item qualifies for FREE shipping.
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Enriched by biographical detail, historical background, musical examples, and many finely nuanced observations, this volume is a treasury of insight and information. Readers will find illuminating discussion of the complete symphonies of Beethoven, Schumann, Brahms, Sibelius, and Mahler, as well as of the most loved symphonic works of Schubert, Bruckner, Dvorak, Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev, and others. We learn how to listen more sharply for Haydn's humor, to Mozart's singular combination of pathos with grace, and to the evolution of Beethoven's musical ideas in his nine symphonies. This remarkable range and variety of composers are illuminated by Steinberg's deft, inviting, and intensely…    
Customers also bought

Book details

Copyright year: 1998
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 12/10/1998
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 696
Size: 6.25" wide x 9.50" long x 1.75" tall
Weight: 2.134
Language: English

Michael Steinberg’s writing has been published in the Journal of the History of Ideas, the American Choral Review, and many law reviews, and he was the author of the Web site “Why This War.” He lives in Rochester, NY.

Ludwig Van Beethoven
Hector Berlioz
Johannes Brahms
Anton Bruckner
Aaron Copland
Anton�n Dvoř�k
Edward Elgar
Henryk G�recki
Howard Hanson
John Harbison
Karl Amadeus Hartmann
Joseph Haydn
Paul Hindemith
Arthur Honegger
Charles Ives
Gustav Mahler
Bohuslav Martinů
Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
Wolfgang Amad� Mozart
Carl Nielsen
Walter Piston
Sergei Prokofiev
Sergei Rachmaninoff
Franz Schmildt
Arnold Schoenberg
Franz Schubert
William Schuman
Robert Schumann
Roger Sessions
Dmitri Shostakovich
Jean Sibelius
Igor Stravinsky
Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
Michael Tippett
Ralph Vaughan Williams
William Walton