Skip to content

Oxford Book of Victorian Ghost Stories

Best in textbook rentals since 2012!

ISBN-10: 0192804472

ISBN-13: 9780192804471

Edition: 2003

Authors: Michael Cox, R. A. Gilbert

List price: $20.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

The Victorians excelled at telling ghost stories. In an age of rapid scientific progress the idea of a vindictive past able to reach out and violate the present held a special potential for terror. Throughout the nineteenth century fictional ghost stories developed in parallel with the more general Victorian fascination with death and what lay beyond it. Though they were as much a part of the cultural and literary fabric of the age as imperial confidence, the best of them stillretain their original power to surprise and unsettle. The editors map out the development of the ghost story from 1850 to the early years of the twentieth century and demonstrate the importance of this form of short…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $20.99
Copyright year: 2003
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 4/24/2003
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 608
Size: 5.08" wide x 7.72" long x 1.11" tall
Weight: 0.748
Language: English

Michael Cox was born on August 30 1948 in Northamptonshire, England. In 1989 he started work at the Oxford University Press. In 1983, Cox published his first book, a biography M. R. James, a Victorian ghost story writer. Between 1983 and 1997 he compiled and edited several anthologies of Victorian short stories for Oxford University Press. His first novel, The Meaning of Night, was published in 2006. Michael Cox died of cancer on March 31, 2009.

The Old Nurse's Story (1852)
An Account of Some Strange Disturbances in Aungier Street (1853)
The Miniature (1853)
The Last House in C--Street (1856)
To be Taken with a Grain of Salt (1865)
The Botathen Ghost (1867)
The Truth, the Whole Truth, and Nothing but the Truth (1868)
The Romance of Certain Old Clothes (1868)
Pichon & Sons, of the Croix Rousse (1868)
Reality or Delusion? (1868)
Uncle Cornelius His Story (1869)
The Shadow of a Shade (1869)
At Chrighton Abbey (1871)
No Living Voice (1872)
Miss Jeromette and the Clergyman (1875)
The Story of Clifford House (1878)
Was it an Illusion? (1881)
The Open Door (1882)
The Captain of the 'Pole-star' (1883)
The Body-Snatcher (1884)
The Story of the Rippling Train (1887)
At the End of the Passage (1890)
'To Let' (1890)
John Charrington's Wedding (1891)
The Haunted Organist of Hurly Burly (1891)
The Man of Science (1892)
Cannon Alberic's Scrap-book (1895)
Jerry Bundler (1897)
An Eddy on the Floor (1899)
The Tomb of Sarah (1900)
The Case of Vincent Pyrwhit (1901)
The Shadows on the Wall (1902)
Father Macclesfield's Tale (1907)
Thurnley Abbey (1908)
The Kit-bag (1908)