Skip to content

Oxford Book of Science Fiction Stories

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0192803816

ISBN-13: 9780192803818

Edition: 2003

Authors: Tom Shippey, Tom Shippey

List price: $19.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


This is the definitive collection of the twentieth-century's most characteristic genre--science fiction. The tales are organized chronologically to give readers a sense of how the genre's range, vitality, and literary quality have evolved over time. Each tale offers a unique vision, an altered reality, a universe all its own. Readers can sample H.G. Well's 1903 story "The Land Ironclads" (which predicted the stalemate of trench warfare and the invention of the tank), Jack Williamson's "The Metal Man," a rarely anthologized gem written in 1928, Clifford D. Simak's 1940s classic, "Desertion," set on "the howling maelstrom that was Jupiter," Frederik Pohl's 1955 "The Tunnel Under the World" (with its gripping first line, "On the morning of June 15th, Guy Burckhardt woke up screaming out of a dream"), right up to the current crop of writers, such as cyberpunks Bruce Sterling and William Gibson, whose 1982 story "Burning Chrome" foreshadows the idea of virtual reality, and David Brin's "Piecework," written in 1990. In addition, Shippey provides an informative Introduction, examining the history of the genre, its major themes, and its literary techniques.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $19.95
Copyright year: 2003
Publisher: Oxford University Press, Incorporated
Publication date: 4/17/2003
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 624
Size: 5.00" wide x 7.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 0.880
Language: English

The Land Ironclads (1903)
Finis (1906)
As Easy as ABC (1912)
The Metal Man (1928)
A Martian Odyssey (1934)
Night (1935)
Desertion (1944)
The Piper's Son (1945)
The Monster (1948)
The Second Night of Summer (1950)
Second Dawn (1951)
Crucifixus Etiam (1953)
The Tunnel Under the World (1955)
Who Can Replace a Man? (1958)
Billennium (1961)
The Ballad of Lost C'mell (1962)
Semley's Necklace (1964)
How Beautiful with Banners (1966)
A Criminal Act (1967)
Problems of Creativeness (1967)
How the Whip Came Back (1970)
Cloak of Anarchy (1972)
A Thing of Beauty (1973)
The Screwfly Solution (1977)
The Way of Cross and Dragon (1978)
Swarm (1982)
Burning Chrome (1982)
Silicon Muse (1984)
Karl and the Ogre (1988)
Piecework (1990)
Select Bibliography