Skip to content

Sylvia's Lovers

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0140434224

ISBN-13: 9780140434224

Edition: 1996

Authors: Elizabeth Cleghorn Gaskell, Shirley Foster, Shirley Foster

List price: $17.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Elizabeth Gaskell's only historical novel, Sylvia's Lovers , is set in 1790 in the seaside town of Monkshaven (Whitby) where press-gangs wreak havoc by seizing young men for service in the Napoleonic wars. One of their victims is whaling harpooner, Charley Kinraid, whose charm and vivacity have captured the heart of Sylvia Robson. But Sylvia's devoted cousin, Philip Hepburn, hopes to marry her himself and, in order to win her, deliberately withholds crucial information - with devastating consequences. With its themes of suffering, unrequited love, and the clash between desire and duty, Sylvia's Lovers is one of the most powerfully moving of all Gaskell's novels, reputedly described by its…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $17.00
Copyright year: 1996
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 6/1/1997
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 528
Size: 5.00" wide x 8.00" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.638
Language: English

Elizabeth Gaskell was the daughter of a Unitarian clergyman, who was also a civil servant and journalist. Her mother died when she was young, and she was brought up by her aunt in Knutsford, a small village that was the prototype for Cranford, Hollingford and the setting for numerous other short stories. In 1832, she married William Gaskell, a Unitarian clergyman in Manchester. She participated in his ministry and collaborated with him to write the poem "Sketches Among the Poor" in 1837. "Our Society at Cranford" was the first two chapters of "Cranford" and it appeared in Dickens' Household Words in 1851. Dickens liked it so much that he pressed Gaskell for more episodes, and she produced…    

Oxford World's Classics
Note On The Text
Select Bibliography
Chronology Of Elizabeth Gaskell
Home from Greenland
Buying a New Cloak
Philip Hepburn
Story of the Press-Gang
the Sailor's Funeral
T�te-�-T�te. - the Will
Attraction and Repulsion
the Specksioneer
a Refractory Pupil
Visions of the Future
Visions of the Future
a Difficult Question
the Engagement
the Engagement
the Engagement
an Important Mission
Loved and Lost*
a Rejected Suitor
Deepening Shadows
Coming Troubles
a Dreary Vigil
a Dreary Vigil
a Dreary Vigil
a Dreary Vigil
Happy Days
Evil Omens
Rescued from the Waves
an Apparition
an Apparition
an Apparition
Mysterious Tidings
a Fable at Fault
the Unknown
the Unknown
the Unknown
'The Keel Row' And Rhymes Of Northern Bards
A Revised Chronology For Sylvia's Lovers
The Texts Of The First And Illustrated Editions Of Sylvia's Lovers
Explanatory Notes