Skip to content

Portable Arthur Miller

Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0140247092

ISBN-13: 9780140247091

Edition: 1995 (Revised)

Authors: Christopher W. Bigsby, Arthur Miller, Harold Clurman, Harold Clurman

List price: $16.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


The Portable Arthur Miller is a rich cross section of sixty years of writing from one of this century's most influential and humane playwrights. This classic collection, completely updated by the author together with the preeminent Miller scholar Christopher Bigsby, contains in full the masterpieces The Crucible and Death of a Salesman, and is now expanded to include his most recent play, Broken Glass, which was awarded England's prestigious Olivier Award for Best Play of 1995, as well as three other complete plays and an excerpt from a radio drama thought lost for years. An essay by Harold Clurman recognizes Miller as one of the greatest playwrights America has produced, and Bigsby's…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $16.95
Copyright year: 1995
Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date: 10/1/1995
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 608
Size: 5.25" wide x 8.00" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 0.880
Language: English

The son of a well-to-do New York Jewish family, Miller graduated from high school and then went to work in a warehouse. He was born on October 17, 1915, in Harlem, New York City. His plays have been called "political," but he considers the areas of literature and politics to be quite separate and has said, "The only sure and valid aim---speaking of art as a weapon---is the humanizing of man." The recurring theme of all his plays is the relationship between a man's identity and the image that society demands of him. After two years, he entered the University of Michigan, where he soon started writing plays. All My Sons (1947), a Broadway success that won the New York Drama Critics Circle…    

Biographical Notes
Introduction to the Original Edition
Introduction to the Revised Edition
Timebends (excerpt from the autobiography) (1987)
The Golden Years (excerpt from a play) (1939-1940)
Death of a Salesman (1949)
The Crucible (1953)
After the Fall (1964)
The American Clock (1980)
The Last Yankee (1993)
Broken Glass (1994)
Timebends (excerpt from the autobiography)