Skip to content


Spend $50 to get a free DVD!

ISBN-10: 0140153209

ISBN-13: 9780140153200

Edition: 1992 (Reprint)

Authors: Lawrence Durrell, Lawrence Durrell

List price: $17.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Mountolive is the third novel in the dazzling Alexandria Quartet. In the earlier novels, Justine's story was narrated by the Irish schoolteacher who was desperately in love with her. Here, the point of view has shifted. This time the central character is David Mountolive, an English diplomat tied to Egypt by the love affair of his youth, who returns as British Ambassador. It is the story of the conspiracy that motivated the lives of Mountolive's friends and, though it baffled him, affected his life as well -- and of the political intrigue, merely hinted at, which in reality lay at the heart of Justine and Balthazar.
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $17.00
Copyright year: 1992
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 7/12/1991
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 5.25" wide x 7.75" long x 0.50" tall
Weight: 0.484

Lawrence Durrell was born on February 27, 1912 in Jullundur, India to British parents. During World War II, he served as a British press officer. His first novel, Pied Piper of Lovers, was published in 1935, but was considered a failure. Some of his other works include The Black Book, The Alexandria Quartet, The Avignon Quintet, and Caesar's Vast Ghost: A Portrait of Provence. Bitter Lemons won the Duff Cooper Prize in 1959. He died on November 7, 1990 at the age of 78.