Skip to content

Modernism A Guide to European Literature,1890-1930

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 0140138323

ISBN-13: 9780140138320

Edition: 1991 (Revised)

Authors: Malcolm Bradbury, James McFarlane

List price: $20.00
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $20.00
Copyright year: 1991
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 6/29/1978
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 688
Size: 5.12" wide x 7.87" long x 1.10" tall
Weight: 0.880
Language: English

A professor of English literature and American studies who has published numerous critical works, Malcolm Bradbury is also a novelist whose protagonists are academics who make muddles of their personal and professional lives. He maintains that his main concern is to explore problems and dilemmas of liberalism and issues of moral responsibility. The targets of Bradbury's satires include intellectual pretension, cultural myopia, and official smugness. His protagonists are largely sympathetic, if comic, failures at mastering their own fates in a world of absurd rules and regulations. His major novels include Eating People Is Wrong (1959), Stepping Westward (1965), and The History Man (1975).…