Arrogant Years One Girl's Search for Her Lost Youth, from Cairo to Brooklyn

ISBN-10: 0061803693

ISBN-13: 9780061803697

Edition: 2013

Authors: Lucette Lagnado

List price: $18.50 Buy it from $3.00
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


“[Lagnado writes] in crystalline yet melodious prose.”—New York TimesLucette Lagnado’s acclaimed, award-winning The Man in the White Sharkskin Suit (“[a] crushing, brilliant book,” New York Times Book Review) told the powerfully moving story of her Jewish family’s exile from Egypt. In her extraordinary follow-up memoir, The Arrogant Years, Lagnado revisits her first years in America, and describes a difficult coming-of-age tragically interrupted by a bout with cancer at age 16. At once a poignant mother and daughter story and a magnificent snapshot of the turbulent ’60s and ’70s, The Arrogant Years is a stunning work of memory and resilience that ranges from Cairo to Brooklyn and beyond—the unforgettable true story of a remarkable young woman’s determination to push past the boundaries of her life and make her way in the wider world.
Used Starting from $9.85
New Starting from $15.19
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $18.50
Copyright year: 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 4/17/2012
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 416
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.00" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.660
Language: English

Prologue: The Avenger of Sixty-Sixth Street
The Curse of Alexandra
The Secret of the Pasha's Wife
The Alley of the Pretty One
The Bride Who Set Herself on Fire
The Bonesetter of Mouski
The Porcelain Dolls of Malaka Nazli Street
Rebuilding the Heart
The Legend of Agent Extraordinary
Passion Play on Sixty-Seventh Street
The Healing Powers of Iodine
The Errant Sister
The Passion of the Fast
The Messiah Is a Woman
The Tragedy of the Navy Blue Blazer
The Advance of the Little Porcelain Dolls
Cities of Refuge
The Shrine on the Mountain
The Fall of Afterward
The Spring of Nevermore
The Princess of West 116th Street
The Lady in the Pink Bow
The Lost Art of Penmanship
The Woman Against the Wall
An Earthquake in Cairo
The Book of Lamentations
The Verse of Consolation
Epilogue: Inside the Pasha's Library
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.