Skip to content

Collected Poems 1956-1998

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 0060783907

ISBN-13: 9780060783907

Edition: 2006

Authors: Zbigniew Herbert, Alissa Valles, Czeslaw Milosz, Peter Dale Scott, Adam Zagajewski

List price: $34.95
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
Out of stock
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


This outstanding new translation brings a uniformity of voice to Zbigniew Herbert's entire poetic output, from his first book of poems, STRING OF LIGHT, in 1956, to his final volume, previously unpublished in English, EPILOGUE OF THE STORM. COLLECTED POEMS: 1956 1998, as Joseph Brodsky said of Herbert's SELECTED POEMS, is "bound for a much longer haul than any of us can anticipate." He continues, "For Zbigniew Herbert's poetry adds to the biography of civilization the sensibility of a man not defeated by the century that has been most thorough, most effective in dehumanization of the species. Herbert's irony, his austere reserve and his compassion, the lucidity of his lyricism, the…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $34.95
Copyright year: 2006
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 2/6/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 624
Size: 6.12" wide x 9.00" long x 1.41" tall
Weight: 2.2
Language: English

Zbigniew Herbert: October 29, 1924 - July 28, 1998. Polish poet and playwright Zbigniew Herbert was born in 1924. His works have been translated in most European languages. His awards include the Jurzykowski Prize (1964), the Austrian Government Prize for European Literature (1965) and the Petrarch Prize (1979). He created the character of Mr. Cognito. Herbert died in Warsaw in July, 1998.

Chord of light (1956)
Hermes, dog and star (1957)
Study of the object (1961)
Inscription (1969)
Mr. Cogito (1974)
Report from a besieged city (1983)
Elegy for the departure (1990)
Rovigo (1992)
Epilogue to a storm (1998)
Zbigniew Herbert : a chronology