Skip to content

Chasing Justice My Story of Freeing Myself after Two Decades on Death Row for a Crime I Didn't Commit

Spend $50 to get a free movie!

ISBN-10: 0060574658

ISBN-13: 9780060574659

Edition: N/A

Authors: Kerry Max Cook

List price: $15.99
Blue ribbon 30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee!
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
Carrot Coin icon
XP icon
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!


Kerry Cook is an innocent man who wrongly served two decades in Texas's notorious death house for the brutal 1977 rape and murder of 21-year-old Linda Jo Edwards. His struggle for freedom is said to be one of the worst cases of police and prosecutorial misconduct in American history. In the summer of 1977, Cook was staying in Tyler, TX. He met an attractive young woman named Linda Edwards and was invited back to her apartment for a drink and left his fingerprints on the sliding glass door. Four days later, Ms. Edwards was found brutally murdered. When the police dusted for prints, they found Cook's and immediately arrested him. Edward Jackson testified that Cook confessed to the murder…    
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $15.99
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 3/11/2008
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 368
Size: 5.31" wide x 8.00" long x 0.83" tall
Weight: 0.682
Language: English

Kerry Max Cook was born in Stuttgart, Germany, and spent much of his youth on army bases in Europe. In 1972, he and his family returned to the United States to live in Texas. Since gaining his freedom, Cook has been an outspoken advocate for legal reform. He has made numerous national and international media appearances and has lectured at Princeton, Yale, and the University of Chicago. His story was incorporated into the acclaimed play The Exonerated , of which he is often a cast member. He was awarded a Soros Justice Fellowship to write Chasing Justice.

Prologue: 1977
My Family
Pretrial, 1977 and 1978
1978 Trial
Welcome to Death Row
Through the Killing Fields
Men I Could Trust
The More Things Stay the Same: Pretrial, 1992
The 1992 Retrial
Georgetown Rematch, 1994
A November to Remember
The Choice
Living Life
My Travels