Percussionist's Art Same Bed, Different Dreams

ISBN-10: 1580462146

ISBN-13: 9781580462143

Edition: 2006

List price: $39.95 Buy it from $30.02
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In the beginning there was noise. Drumming, the world's most ancient instrumental tradition, re-emerged explosively in the concert music of the twentieth century as music for percussion, involving drums and many other kinds of noisemakers. The music that resulted has spanned an expressive and intellectual gamut: From Cage, Varse and Cowell came the first ear-splitting sounds of an American percussion revolution that began in the 1930's; from Stockhausen, Ferneyhough and Xenakis we have music whose intellectual demands are matched by a vibrant physicality; Feldman gave us gently unfolding structures; John Luther Adams finds music within the earth itself. The Percussionist's Art: Same Bed, Different Dreams examines this music through the eyes of a performer. The book is a practical philosophy, looking not just at the big ideas behind these and other pieces, but also at how those ideas find expression in sound.Steven Schick is the world's leading exponent of solo percussion music involving multiple instruments. He has commissioned more than one-hundred pieces from renowned composers including David Lang, Brian Ferneyhough and Roger Reynolds. He was a founding member of the Bang on a Can All-Stars (1992-2002) and Artistic Director of the Centre International de Percussion de Geneve (Switzerland, 2002-04). He teaches at the University of California, San Diego, where he directs the percussion group "red fish blue fish."

New Starting from $30.02
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Customers also bought


Book details

List price: $39.95
Copyright year: 2006
Publisher: University of Rochester Press
Publication date: 4/12/2017
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 272
Size: 8.19" wide x 8.23" long x 0.87" tall
Weight: 1.540
Language: English

Paul Griffiths is a freelance evangelist. He is the author of four books and is involved in the running of various evangelism training and evangelistic courses across the UK. He lectures on various MA, Bth and Bible College courses. Martin Robinson leads Together in Mission, a training agency, and is author of many books, most recent The 8 Secrets of Happiness.

Because the world is round
Loud Americans : American percussion music under construction
Learning Bone alphabet
The affliction of memory
Face the music : a look at percussion playing
This is not a drum : manipulating the material of percussion music
Same bed, different dreams : a personal epilogue
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.