Pandora's Lunchbox How Processed Food Took over the American Meal

ISBN-10: 1451666748
ISBN-13: 9781451666748
Edition: N/A
Authors: Melanie Warner
List price: $18.99 Buy it from $10.26
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma comes an "indispensable," (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.If a piece of individually wrapped cheese can  More...

Used Starting from $10.26
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Ethics Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Law Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Management Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $18.99
Publisher: Scribner
Publication date: 2/25/2014
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 304
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.836
Language: English

In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma comes an "indispensable," (New York Newsday) fascinating, and cutting-edge look at the scary truth about what really goes into our food.If a piece of individually wrapped cheese can retain its shape, color, and texture for years, what does it say about the food we eat and feed to our children? Former New York Times business reporter and mother Melanie Warner decided to explore that question when she observed the phenomenon of the indestructible cheese. She began an investigative journey that took her to research labs, university food science departments, and factories around the country. What she discovered provides a rare, eye-opening--and sometimes disturbing--account of what we're really eating. Warner looks at how decades of food science have resulted in the cheapest, most abundant, most addictive, and most nutritionally inferior food in the world, and she uncovers startling evidence about the profound health implications of the packaged and fast foods that we eat on a daily basis. Mark Bittman raved in the New York Times, "So much fun that you might forget how depressing it all is...There are more Holy Cow! Moments here than even someone who thinks he or she knows what's going on in food production could predict." Excerpted in The Wall Street Journal, combining meticulous research, vivid writing, and cultural analysis, Warner blows the lid off the largely undocumented--and lightly regulated--world of chemically treated and processed foods and lays bare the potential price we may pay for consuming even so-called healthy foods.

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×