When Women Were Birds Fifty-Four Variations on Voice

ISBN-10: 1250024110
ISBN-13: 9781250024114
Edition: 2013
List price: $16.00 Buy it from $5.25
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: "This poetic memoir continues the work Williams began in Refuge....Williams explores her mother's identity - woman, wife, mother, and Mormon - as she continues to honor her memory....A lyrical and elliptical meditation on women, nature, family, and  More...

Used Starting from $10.26
New Starting from $14.21
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
SQL Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
MS Excel® 2010 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
MS Word® 2010 Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $16.00
Copyright year: 2013
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 2/26/2013
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 256
Size: 4.75" wide x 7.25" long x 0.75" tall
Weight: 0.572
Language: English

"This poetic memoir continues the work Williams began in Refuge....Williams explores her mother's identity - woman, wife, mother, and Mormon - as she continues to honor her memory....A lyrical and elliptical meditation on women, nature, family, and history.' - The Boston Globe"I am leaving you all my journals, but you must promise me you won't look at them until after I'm gone.' This is what Terry Tempest Williams's mother, the matriarch of a large Mormon clan in northern Utah, told her a week before she died. It was a shock to Williams to discover that her mother had kept journals. But not as much of a shock to discover that the three shelves of journals were all blank. In fifty-four short chapters, Williams recounts memories of her mother, ponders her own Mormon faith, and contemplates the notion of absence in art and in our world. When Women Were Birds is a carefully crafted kaleidoscope that keeps turning around the question: What does it mean to have a voice?? For readers of Anne Lamott and Kathleen Norris? Picador's edition will have French flaps; deckle-edged pages; and a handy, giftable package and trim size.

She is the award-winning author of Leap, An Unspoken Hunger, Refuge & most recently Red - A Desert Reader. She lives in Castle Valley, Utah.

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×