Race for What's Left The Global Scramble for the World's Last Resources

ISBN-10: 1250023971
ISBN-13: 9781250023971
Edition: 2013
Authors: Michael T. Klare
List price: $18.00 Buy it from $3.08
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: The world is facing an unprecedented crisis of resource depletion - a crisis that encompasses shortages of oil, coal and natural gas, copper and cobalt, water and arable land. With all of the Earth's habitable areas already in use, the desperate  More...

Used Starting from $11.04
New Starting from $16.52
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Ethics Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Law Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $18.00
Copyright year: 2013
Publisher: Picador
Publication date: 12/24/2012
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.25" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.836
Language: English

The world is facing an unprecedented crisis of resource depletion - a crisis that encompasses shortages of oil, coal and natural gas, copper and cobalt, water and arable land. With all of the Earth's habitable areas already in use, the desperate hunt for supplies has now reached the final frontiers. The Race for What's Left takes us from the Arctic to war zones to deep ocean floors, from a Russian submarine planting the country's flag under the North Pole to the large-scale buying up of African farmland by Saudi Arabia and other nations. With resource extraction growing more complex, the environmental risks are becoming increasingly severe - and the intense search for dwindling supplies is igniting new border disputes. The only way out, Klare argues, will be to alter our consumption patterns altogether, a crucial task that will be the greatest challenge of the coming century.- For readers of Bill McKibben and Elizabeth Kolbert

Michael T. Klare is Director of the Five College Program in Peace & World Security Studies in Amherst, Mass., & author of numerous books on the changing nature of warfare, including "Low-Intensity Warfare", "Word Security", & "Rogue States" & "Nuclear Outlaws". He lives in Northhampton, Massachusetts.

Introduction
Driven by Depletion
Deep-Offshore Oil and Gas
Invading the Arctic
Tar Sands, Shale Gas, and Other Unconventional Hydrocarbons
Mining's New Frontiers
Rare Earths and Other Critical Minerals
Global "Land Grabs" and the Struggle for Food
Shaping the Course of History
Notes
Acknowledgments
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×