Concerto Op. 14 For Violin and Orchestra

ISBN-10: 0793554586

ISBN-13: 9780793554584

Edition: N/A

Authors: Samuel Barber

List price: $22.99 Buy it from $19.51
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


New Starting from $21.35
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $22.99
Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation
Publication date: 11/1/1986
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 40
Size: 9.00" wide x 11.75" long x 0.25" tall
Weight: 0.330
Language: English

Samuel Barbor, one of America's most accomplished composers, was born in West Chester, Pennsylvania, in 1910. He grew up in a musical family-his mother was a pianist, and his aunt, Louise Homer, was a famous opera contralto. Barber began studying piano at the age of six. The following year he wrote his first composition, a piano piece entitled Sadness. When he was nine, Barber planned a full-length opera. While he was attending high school, Barber performed for Harold Randolph, director of the Peabody Conservatory in Baltimore. Randolph advised Barber to devote himself entirely to music and encouraged him to apply to the Curtis Institute, a newly founded school of music in Philadelphia. At the institute, Barber studied piano, composition, and singing. In 1928 he received the Bearns Prize for a violin sonata. However, it was not until several years later, when Barber wrote two highly innovative orchestral works that he became recognized as a composer of considerable status. The first of these works was Overture to the School for Scandal (1933) which brought Barber the Bearns Prize for a second time. The second was Music for a Scene from Shelley, a piece inspired by Prometheus Unbound by Percy Bysshe Shelley. After winning the Prix de Rome, Barber settled in Rome at the American Academy. There he composed his first symphony, the Symphony in One Movement (1936), in which he compressed four sections of a traditional symphony into one movement. While he was serving in World War II, Barber was commissioned to write a symphony in honor of the U.S. Air Force. Obviously influenced by the war, this piece was considerably more dissonant and astringent than his previous work had been. After being discharged, Barber returned to Capricorn, his home in Mount Kisco, New York. There Barber wrote the major works that included Concerto for Cello and Orchestra (1945) and the ballet Medea (1946) for which he would be placed first among American composers. By the late 1940s, Barber had had established his style. He combined strong lyrical and emotional elements with modern harmonic and rhythmic approaches. Barber's first opera, Vanessa (1958), received the Pulitzer Prize in Music. He received a second Pulitzer Prize in Music in 1962 for his Piano Concerto.

Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.