Forensics for Dummies�

ISBN-10: 0764555804
ISBN-13: 9780764555800
Edition: 2004
Authors: D. P. Lyle
List price: $19.99
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia  More...

what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Careers in Legal Assisting Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Terminology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Medical Math Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $19.99
Copyright year: 2004
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons, Incorporated
Publication date: 4/30/2004
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 384
Size: 7.50" wide x 9.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.188
Language: English

A plain-English primer on crime scene investigation that's a must for fans of CSI or Patricia Cornwell Since the O. J. Simpson case, popular interest in forensic science has exploded: CBS's CSI has 16 to 26 million viewers every week, and Patricia Cornwell's novels featuring a medical examiner sleuth routinely top bestseller lists, to cite just a few examples. Now, everyone can get the lowdown on the science behind crime scene investigations. Using lots of fascinating case studies, forensics expert Dr. D. P. Lyle clues people in on everything from determining cause and time of death to fingerprints, fibers, blood, ballistics, forensic computing, and forensic psychology. With its clear, entertaining explanations of forensic procedures and techniques, this book will be an indispensable reference for mystery fans and true crime aficionados everywhere-and even includes advice for people interested in forensic science careers. D. P. Lyle, MD (Laguna Hills, CA), is a practicing cardiologist who is also a forensics expert and mystery writer. He runs a Web site that answers writers' questions about forensics, dplylemd.com, and is the author of Murder and Mayhem: A Doctor Answers Medical and Forensic Questions for Writers, as well as several mystery novels. John Pless, MD, is Professor Emeritus of Pathology at Indiana University School of Medicine and former President of the National Association of Medical Examiners.

Foreword
Introduction
Cracking Open the Case
Understanding the World of Forensics
Uncovering Who Does What When: The Forensics Team in Action
Working the Scene: Evidence Collection and Protection
Peering into the Criminal Mind
Uncovering the Evidence
Fingerprints: Your Personal Signature
Those Messy Bloodstains
Making Good Impressions: Shoes, Tires, and Tools
The Burning Question: Is It Arson?
Looking at the Body
Determining the Hows and Whys of Death: Forensic Autopsies
Identifying John and Jane Doe
Estimating the Time of Death
Yeow! That Hurts: Traumatic Injuries and Deaths
Asphyxia: Where's the Oxygen?
Working in the Crime Lab
Working with Blood and Other Bodily Fluids: Serology
What's the Deal with DNA?
Finding Drugs and Poisons: The Toxicology Lab
Analyzing Trace Evidence
Going Ballistic: Analyzing Firearms Evidence
Questioning the Validity of Documents
The Part of Tens
Ten Famous Forensic Cases
Ten Ways Hollywood Gets It Wrong
Ten Great Forensic Careers
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×