Speaking of Faith

ISBN-10: 0670038350
ISBN-13: 9780670038350
Edition: 2007
Authors: Krista Tippett
List price: $23.95 Buy it from $0.80
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: The host of public radios Speaking of Faithexplores the role of faith in the world and in human life today Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radios phenomenally popular program Speaking of Faith, a weekly conversation about religion,  More...

Used Starting from $0.80
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Art Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of World Philosophies Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
American History Volume 1 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Music Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $23.95
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
Publication date: 3/1/2007
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 256
Size: 6.00" wide x 8.75" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 0.836
Language: English

The host of public radios Speaking of Faithexplores the role of faith in the world and in human life today Krista Tippett is the creator and host of public radios phenomenally popular program Speaking of Faith, a weekly conversation about religion, meaning, ethics, and ideas. As a journalist and then as a diplomat in Berlin, Tippett was enthralled by the promise of political solutions to divisive issues. When politics did not provide worthy answers, Tippett attended Yale Divinity School to pursue larger questions about what makes a meaningful life. In her quest for faiths illumination of lifes complexities, passions, and frailties, she developed a compelling style of discoursea life of conversationthat she now shares with millions of people every week. Tippetts unique, in-depth conversations with theologians, scientists, ethicists, and seekers who share their experiences, combined with her engaging style, are revolutionizing the way many think and speak of faith in their families and communities and in the larger world. Speaking of Faithis the story of this conversational journey and what it yields. Tippett draws on her life experiences and her studies, as well as on conversations with Elie Wiesel, Karen Armstrong, Thich Nhat Hanh, and other renowned figures, to explore such complex subjects as justice, science, fundamentalism, evil, love, and mystery, all within the context of spirituality. In the tradition of Kathleen Norris and Anne Lamott, Krista Tippett here shares a life of conversation that anyone, secular or religious, will find thought provoking about what faith does and canmean to us today. BACKCOVER: Praise for Krista Tippett and her public radio program Speaking of Faith: The brilliance of Krista Tippetts idea is to trust people to use the first person singular, to commit themselves with passion and clarity as they enlarge our urgent national conversation. Martin Marty, Emeritus Professor of American Religious History, University of Chicago Speaking of Faith isnt just a good idea and a welcome concept for a muchneeded forum on religion, belief and spirituality in contemporary lifeit already is that forum. Patricia Hampl, Poet, memoirist, and MacArthur Genius Grant recipient

Krista Tippett is a broadcaster, journalist, and author. Krista graduated from Brown University in 1983. She's also a Fulbright scholar. Tippett has worked for the New York Times and written for Newsweek, the BBC and others. In 1986, she acted as a special political assistant to the senior diplomat in West Berlin. The following year she became chief aide in Berlin to the U.S. ambassador to West Germany. Tippett received a Masters of Divinity from Yale University in 1994. She went on to create and host the public radio program Speaking of Faith. The program is currently broadcast on more than 200 public radio stations in the US and globally via NPR Worldwide, its website, and its podcast. Krista's first book, Speaking of Faith - Why Religion Matters and How to Talk about It, was published in 2007; her most recent book is Einstein's God: Conversations about Science and the Human Spirit (Feb 2010).

Genesis : how we got here
Remembering forward
Rethinking religious truth
Speaking of faith
Exposing virtue
Confessing mystery

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×