Big Sort Why the Clustering of Like-Minded America Is Tearing Us Apart

ISBN-10: 0618689354
ISBN-13: 9780618689354
Edition: 2008
List price: $25.00
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In the tradition of The Affluent Society and Bowling Alone, a book that will redefine the way Americans think about themselves for decades to come. America may be more diverse than ever coast to coast, but the places where we live are becoming  More...

what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Art Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of World Philosophies Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
American History Volume 1 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Music Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $25.00
Copyright year: 2008
Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Publishing Company
Publication date: 5/7/2008
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 384
Size: 6.50" wide x 9.00" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.540
Language: English

In the tradition of The Affluent Society and Bowling Alone, a book that will redefine the way Americans think about themselves for decades to come. America may be more diverse than ever coast to coast, but the places where we live are becoming increasingly crowded with people who live, think, and vote as we do.Weve built a country where we can all choose the neighborhood-and church and news show-most compatible with our lifestyle and beliefs. And we are living with the consequences of this way-of-life segregation. Our country has become so polarized, so ideologically inbred, that people dont know and cant understand those who live just a few miles away. The reason for this situation, and the dire implications for our country, is the subject of this groundbreaking work. In 2004, journalist Bill Bishop made national news in a series of articles when he coined the phrase "the big sort." Armed with original and startling demographic data, he showed how Americans have been sorting themselves over the past three decades into alarmingly homogeneous communities-not at the regional level, or the red-state/bluestate level, but at the micro level of city and neighborhood. In The Big Sort, Bishop takes his analysis to a new level in a brilliantly reported book that makes its case from the ground up, starting with stories about how we live today, and then drawing on history, economics, and our changing political landscape to create one of the most compelling big-picture accounts of America in recent memory.

Introduction
The Power of Place
The Age of Political Segregation
The Politics of Migration
The Psychology of the Tribe
The Silent Revolution
Culture Shift: The 1965 Unraveling
The Beginning of Division: Beauty and Salvation in 1974
The Economics of the Big Sort: Culture and Growth in the 1990s
The Way We Live Today
Religion: The Missionary and the Megachurch
Advertising: Grace Slick, Tricia Nixon, and You
Lifestyle: "Books, Beer, Bikes, and Birkenstocks"
The Politics of People Like Us
Choosing a Side
The Big Sort Campaign
To Marry Your Enemies
Acknowledgments
Notes
Selected Bibliography
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×