Where Water Comes Together with Other Water Poems

ISBN-10: 039474327X
ISBN-13: 9780394743271
Edition: N/A
Authors: Raymond Carver
List price: $15.00 Buy it from $3.00
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: A vast collection of poems which won "Poetry" magazine's Levinson prize."Somehow the nuances of daily experience, the warmth, humor, and reflection the poet brings to subjects are quite unlike anyone else's." - J.Parisi

New Starting from $13.55
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Italian Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Portuguese Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Spanish Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
German Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $15.00
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 3/12/1986
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 144
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.00" long x 0.50" tall
Weight: 0.330
Language: English

A vast collection of poems which won "Poetry" magazine's Levinson prize."Somehow the nuances of daily experience, the warmth, humor, and reflection the poet brings to subjects are quite unlike anyone else's." - J.Parisi

Patricia Highsmith wrote twenty-one novels including "Strangers on a Train" & the "Ripley" series. She died in 1995 in Switzerland, where she resided much of her life.Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Woolworth's, 1954
Radio Waves
Movement
Hominy and Rain
The Road
Fear
Romanticism
The Ashtray
Still Looking Out for Number One
Where Water Comes Together With Other Water
Happiness
The Old Days
Our First House in Sacramento
Next Year
To My Daughter
Anathema
Energy
Locking Yourself Out, Then Trying to Get Back In
Medicine
Wenas Ridge
Reading
Rain
Money
Aspens
At Least
The Grant
My Boat
The Poem I Didn't Write
Work
In the Year 2020
The Juggler at Heaven's Gate
My Daughter and Apple Pie
Commerce
The Fishing Pole of the Drowned Man
A Walk
My Dad's Wallet
Ask Him
Next Door
The Caucasus: A Romance
A Forge, and a Scythe
The Pipe
Listening
In Switzerland
A Squall
My Crow
The Party
After Rainy Days
Interview
Blood
Tomorrow
Grief
Harley's Swans
Elk Camp
The Windows of the Summer Vacation Houses
Memory
Away
Music
Plus
All Her Life
The Hat
Late Night With Fog and Horses
Venice
The Eve of Battle
Extirpation
The Catch
My Death
To Begin With
The Cranes
A Haircut
Happiness in Cornwall
Afghanistan
In a Marine Light Near Sequim, Washington
Eagles
Yesterday, Snow
Reading Something in the Restaurant
A Poem Not Against Songbirds
Late Afternoon, April 8, 1984
My Work
The Trestle
For Tess

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×