Anthology of Classical Music

ISBN-10: 0393952096

ISBN-13: 9780393952094

Edition: N/A

Authors: Philip G. Downs

List price: $47.60
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy


All genres, styles, and instrumental combinations are included. The minor composers who labored industriously throughout Europe to supply the growing audiences with the latest in musical fashion are generously represented. For the geniuses of the period, Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven, there are examples of all the major forms in which each worked. The very clearest, most authentic editions are used in all cases and most of the works are available on commerical recordings. A glossary of terms found in the scores is included.
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Sociology Online content $4.95 $1.99
Customers also bought

Book details

List price: $47.60
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
Publication date: 10/17/1992
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 576
Size: 6.50" wide x 9.50" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.738
Language: English

Violin Sonata, Opus 1, No. 4 (first movement)
Trio Sonata in B[flat] Major, H.578, W.161/2 (first movement)
Six Sonates a trois ou avec tout l'orchestre, Opus 1, No. 1 (first movement)
Sonata for Harpsichord in G Major, K.2
Sonata for Harpsichord in D Major, K.492
Sonata No. 2 for Harpsichord (first movement: toccata)
Sonata for Harpsichord in B[flat] Major (first and second movements)
Polonaise No. 2 in C Minor
Sonata in D Minor, H.5 (first movement)
Sonata in C Major, H.46 (first and second movements)
Symphony No. 13
Symphony in D Major (La Melodia Germanica, No. 1) (first movement) It)
Sonata in D Major for Violin and Basso Continuo (first movement)
Sonata in F Major, Opus 8, No. 1 (first movement)
Sonata for Keyboard with Optional Violin, Opus 4, No. 2 (first movement)
Sonata in B Minor "fur Kenner und Liebhaber," H.245
Piano Sonata in A Major, Opus 2, No. 4 (second movement)
String Quartet, Opus 2, No. 2
String Quartet, Opus 1, No. 1 (first movement)
Simphonie in E[flat] Major, Opus 6, No. 3 (first movement)
Sinfonie in D Major, H.663 (first and second movements)
La buona figliuola (Act II, Scenes 12 and 13)
Orfeo ed Euridice (Act I, Scenes 1 and 2)
Ariadne auf Naxos (Scene)
Sonata in G Major, Hob. XVI:G1 (first movement)
Sonata in G Minor, Hob. XVI:44 (first movement)
Sonata in A[flat] Major, Hob. XVI:46 (second movement)
Symphony No. 21 in A Major, Hob. I:21 (first movement)
Lo speziale, Hob. XXVIII:3 (Act III, No. 20: "Salamelica, Semprugna cara")
Sonata in A Major, Hob. XVI:26 (last movement)
String Quartet in E[flat] Major, Opus 20, No. 1, Hob. III:31 (first and third movements)
Symphony No. 45 in F[sharp] Minor ("Farewell"), Hob. I:45 (first movement)
La vera costanza, Hob. XXVIII:8 (Act II, Finale)
Andante in C Major from "Nannerl's Music Book," K.1a
Menuetto in F Major from "Nannerl's Music Book," K.1d
Keyboard Piece in G Minor from the "London Notebook," K.15p
Symphony No. 21 in A Major, K.134 (first inovement)
String Quartet in F Major, K.168 (second movement)
Sonata for Volin and Piano in E Minor, K.304
Idomeneo, K.366 (Overture and Act I, Scene 1)
Vesperae solennes de confessore, K.339 ("Laudate Dominum," Psalm 117)
Sonata in D Major "fur Kenner und Liebhaber," H.286 (first movement)
Sonata in C Minor, H.298 (first movement)
Rondo in G Major "fur Kenner und Leibhaber," H.271
Piano Sonata in G Major, Opus 35, No. 2 (first movement)
Piano Sonata in G Major, Opus 37, No. 2 (first and second movements)
Variations on the Queen of Prussia's Favourite Waltz (theme and variation no. 3)
Six Sonatas for the Pianoforte or Harpsichord, with optional flute, violin, and violoncello: No. 5 (first movement)
Violin Concerto No. 22 in A Minor (second movement)
Piano Concerto No. 3, Op. 33 ("The Storm") (second movement)
Il barbiere di Siviglia (Act I, trio)
Il barbiere di Siviglia (Act I, Rosina's cavatina)
Piano Sonata in C Major, Hob. XVI:48 (first movement)
Piano Trio in C Minor, Hob. XV: 13 (second movement)
String Quartet in B[flat] Major, Opus 33, No. 4, Hob. III:40 (first movement)
String Quartet in C Major, Opus 54, No. 2, Hob. III:57 (second movement)
Piano Sonata in E[flat] Major, Hob. XVI:52 (first and second movements)
String Quartet in G Major, Opus 77, No. 1, Hob. III:81 (second movement)
Piano Sonata No. 14 in C Minor, K.457 (first movement)
String Quartet in E[flat] Major, K.614 (second movement)
Symphony No. 41 in C Major ("Jupiter"), K.551 (fourth movement)
Minuet No. 2 in C Major, K.601
Le nozze di Figaro, K.492 (Act II, Scene 1: "Porgi amor")
Die Zauberflote, K.620 (Act I, Finale)
Ave verum corpus, K.618
Piano Sonata in F Minor, Opus 2, No. 1 (first movement)
Piano Sonata in C Major ("Waldstein"), Opus 53 (first and second movements)
Andante favori for piano, WoO 57
Piano Sonata in E Major, Opus 109
Symphony No. 9, Opus 125 (first movement)
Piano Sonata in A Major, Opus 50, No. 1 (second movement)
Piano Concerto No. 2 in A[flat] Major (first movement)
Il barbiere di Siviglia (Act I, No. 7: Duet)
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.