Garbage

ISBN-10: 0393324117

ISBN-13: 9780393324112

Edition: 2002 (Reprint)

Authors: A. R. Ammons
List price: $15.95 Buy it from $1.74
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In his first book of new poetry since Sumerian Vistas (1987), A. R. Ammons, one of America's greatest living poets, uses an unlikely subject - garbage - as the occasion for a profound and often funny meditation on nature and mutability. Driving along I-95 in Florida the poet sights a smoldering mountain of the stuff and is moved to muse: "garbage has to be the poem of our time because / garbage is spiritual, believable enough to get our attention, getting in the way, piling up, stinking, turning brooks brownish and / creamy white: what else deflects us from the / errors of our illusionary ways..". Ammons proceeds to evoke with his unique blend of intellectual rigor and American sublimity the impersonal beauties of natural processes both microscopic and cosmic, including ruefully amusing observations on the vagaries of aging. He asks what place poetry and language might have in this vast system and finds startling correspondences: "our language is something to write home about; / but it is not the world: grooming does for / baboons most of what words do for us". Never has the dreadful sundry of this world inspired such beauties of thought and expression. Already the subject of intense discussion following its partial publication in American Poetry Review, Garbage is A. R. Ammons's finest long poem since Tape for the Turn of the Year (1965). (Both poems were composed on adding machine tape.) It reaffirms the estimate of his work delivered on the presentation of the National Book Critics Circle Award in Poetry for 1981 for Lake Country Effect, that he "stands in the tradition of Wordsworth, Emerson, and Whitman", creating poetry "remarkable for its radiant density of argument and feeling".

Used Starting from $2.92
New Starting from $14.18
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Ethics Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Law Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $15.95
Copyright year: 2002
Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company, Incorporated
Publication date: 12/17/2002
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 128
Size: 5.75" wide x 8.25" long x 0.50" tall
Weight: 0.396
Language: English

Archie Randolph Ammons, 1926 - Poet and teacher A. R. Ammons was born in North Carolina in 1926. He served his country during World War II aboard a U.S. Navy destroyer escort in the South Pacific, which is where he began writing poetry. After he returned from duty, he attended Wake Forest College, North Carolina and the University of California, Berkley. He began teaching at Cornell University in 1964 and, in 1971, became a Goldwin Smith Professor of Poetry there. Ammons has authored nearly 30 books of poetry and some of those titles include "Garbage" (1993), which won the National Book Award and the Library of Congress's Rebekah Johnson Bobbitt National Prize for Poetry; "A Coast of Trees" (1981), which received the national Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry; "Sphere" (1974), which received the Bollingen Prize; and "Collected Poems 1951-1971" (1972), which won the National Book Award. Other honors include the Academy's Tanning Prize, the Poetry Society of America's Robert Frost Medal and the Ruth Lilly Prize. He has also received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the MacArthur Foundation, and the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Archie Randolph Ammons died on February 25, 2001.

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×