In Pursuit of Silence Listening for Meaning in a World of Noise

ISBN-10: 0385528884
ISBN-13: 9780385528887
Edition: 2010
Authors: George Prochnik
List price: $31.00 Buy it from $0.01
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious commodity of our modern world. Now George Prochnik delivers a brilliant and far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and of the growing war  More...

Used Starting from $14.17
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Periodic Table Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Ethics Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Business Law Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $31.00
Copyright year: 2010
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 4/6/2010
Binding: Hardcover
Pages: 352
Size: 5.75" wide x 8.50" long x 1.50" tall
Weight: 1.100
Language: English

More than money, power, and even happiness, silence has become the most precious commodity of our modern world. Now George Prochnik delivers a brilliant and far-reaching exploration of the frontiers of noise and silence, and of the growing war between them. In Pursuit of Silencegives context to our increasingly desperate sense that noise pollution is, in a very real way, an environmental catastrophe. Delving into the field with doctors, neuroscientists, acoustical engineers, monks, activists, educators, marketers, and aggrieved citizens, Prochnik examines the need for quiet from a medical, technological, political, philosophical, and spiritual perspective. As Prochnik travels across the United States and overseas, we meet a rich host of characters: an idealistic architect who is pioneering a new kind of silent architecture in collaboration with the deaf community at Gallaudet University; a special operations soldier in Afghanistan (and former guitarist with Nirvana) who places silence at the heart of survival in war; a sound designer for shopping malls who ensures that the stores we visit never stop their auditory seductions; and a group of commuters who successfully revolted against piped-in music in Grand Central Station. In Pursuit of Silenceis an important book that will appeal to fans of Malcolm Gladwell and Daniel Gilbert.

GEORGE PROCHNIK is the author ofPutnam Camp: Sigmund Freud, James Jackson Putnam, and the Purpose of American Psychology, aNew York Timesldquo;Editorrsquo;s Choicerdquo; pick and winner of a 2007 Gradiva Award. He has written for theNew York Times, theBoston Globe,Playboy, andCabinetmagazine, among other publications. He lives in Brooklyn. www.inpursuitofsilence.com From the Hardcover edition.

Introduction
Listening for the Unknown
Why We Hear
Why We Are Noisy
Retail: The Soundtrack
Sounds Like Noise
Silent Interlude
Soundkill
Freeway to Noise
Home Front
This Is War!
The Dragon Trap
Silent Finale
Acknowledgments
Notes
Author's Note
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×