Call If You Need Me The Uncollected Fiction and Other Prose

ISBN-10: 0375726284
ISBN-13: 9780375726286
Edition: 2001
List price: $15.95 Buy it from $3.00
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: A VINTAGE CONTEMPORARIES ORIGINAL A literary event: Raymond Carver's complete uncollected fiction and nonfiction, including the recently discovered "last" stories, found a decade after Carver's death and published here in book form for the first  More...

Used Starting from $10.23
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Art Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of World Philosophies Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
American History Volume 1 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Music Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $15.95
Copyright year: 2001
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 1/9/2001
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 320
Size: 5.19" wide x 8.00" long x 0.72" tall
Weight: 0.616
Language: English

A VINTAGE CONTEMPORARIES ORIGINAL A literary event: Raymond Carver's complete uncollected fiction and nonfiction, including the recently discovered "last" stories, found a decade after Carver's death and published here in book form for the first time. Call If You Need Me includes all of the prose previously collected in No Heroics, Please, four essays from Fires, and those five marvelous stories that range over the period of Carver's mature writing and give his devoted readers a final glimpse of the great writer at work. The pure pleasure of Carver's writing is everywhere in his work, here no less than in those stories that have alreadey entered the canon of modern literature.

Patricia Highsmith wrote twenty-one novels including "Strangers on a Train" & the "Ripley" series. She died in 1995 in Switzerland, where she resided much of her life.Born in 1938 in an Oregon logging town, Raymond Carver grew up in Yakima, From California he went to Iowa to attend the Iowa Writers Workshop. Soon, however, he returned to California, where he worked at a number of unskilled jobs before obtaining a teaching position. Widely acclaimed as the most important short story writer of his generation, Carver writes about the kind of lower-middle-class people whom he knew growing up. His characters are waitresses, mechanics, postmen, high school teachers, factory workers, door-to-door salesmen who lead drab lives because of limited funds. Critics have said that may have the most distinctive vision of the working class. Nominated posthumously for both a National Book Critics Circle Award (1988) and a Pulitzer Prize (1989) for Where I'm Calling From: New and Selected Stories (1988), Carver is one of a handful of writers credited with reviving the short story form. Some have put Carver in the tradition of Ernest Hemingway and Stephen Crane. Carver's stories tend to be brief, with enigmatic endings, although never erupting. Violence is often just below the surface. An air of quiet desperation pervades his stories, as Carver explores the collapse of human relationships in bleak circumstances. In later works, Carver strikes a note of redemption, unheard at the beginning of his career. But for readers who are not attuned to Carver's voice of resignation, these moments may sound sentimental and unconvincing. Carver died of lung cancer in 1988.

Foreword
Editor's Preface
Kindling
What Would You Like to See?
Dreams
Vandals
Call If You Need Me
My Father's Life
On Writing
Fires
John Gardner: The Writer as Teacher
Friendship
Meditation on a Line from Saint Teresa
Furious Seasons
The Hair
The Aficionados
Poseidon and Company
Bright Red Apples
From: The Augustine Notebooks
On "Neighbors"
On "Drinking While Driving"
On Rewriting
On the Dostoevsky Screenplay
On "Bobbet" and Other Poems
On "For Tess"
On "Errand"
On Where I'm Calling From
Steering by the Stars
All My Relations
The Unknown Chekhov
Fiction of Occurrence and Consequence
On Contemporary Fiction
On Longer Stories
Big Fish, Mythical Fish: (My Moby Dick by William Humphrey)
Barthelme's Inhuman Comedies: (Great Days by Donald Barthelme)
Rousing Tales: (Legends of the Fall by Jim Harrison)
Bluebird Mornings, Storm Warnings: (The Van Gogh Field by William Kittredge)
A Gifted Novelist at the Top of His Game: (A Game Men Play by Vance Bourjaily)
Fiction That Throws Light on Blackness: (Hardcastle by John Yount)
Brautigan Serves Werewolf Berries and Cat Cantaloupe: (The Tokyo-Montana Express by Richard Brautigan)
McGuane Goes After Big Game: (An Outside Chance by Thomas McGuane)
Richard Ford's Stark Vision of Loss, Healing: (The Ultimate Good Luck by Richard Ford)
A Retired Acrobat Falls under the Spell of a Teenage Girl: (Balancing Acts by Lynne Sharon Schwartz)
"Fame Is No Good, Take It from Me": (Selected Letters by Sherwood Anderson, edited by Charles E. Modlin)
Coming of Age, Going to Pieces: (Along with Youth: Hemingway, the Early Years by Peter Griffin; and Hemingway: A Biography by Jeffrey Meyers)
Notes

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×