Frankenstein

ISBN-10: 0321399536
ISBN-13: 9780321399533
Edition: 2nd 2007 (Revised)
List price: $28.40 Buy it from $11.47
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: From theLongman Cultural Editionsseries, this second edition ofFrankensteinpresents Mary Shelleys remarkable novel in several provocative and illuminating contexts: cultural, critical, and literary.nbsp;Series Editor Susan J. Wolfson presents the  More...

New Starting from $27.70
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
Italian Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Portuguese Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
Spanish Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
German Grammar Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $28.40
Edition: 2nd
Copyright year: 2007
Publisher: Longman Publishing Group
Publication date: 6/30/2006
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 464
Size: 5.75" wide x 9.00" long x 1.00" tall
Weight: 1.012
Language: English

From theLongman Cultural Editionsseries, this second edition ofFrankensteinpresents Mary Shelleys remarkable novel in several provocative and illuminating contexts: cultural, critical, and literary.nbsp;Series Editor Susan J. Wolfson presents the 1818 version of Mary Shelleys famous novel in its cultural and historical contexts. Like all great works of fiction,Frankensteingains depth and dimension from its "conversation" with contemporary texts, especially those by Shelleys own parents, husband, and friends. nbsp;A lively introduction is complemented by a chronology coordinating Shelleys life with key historical events and a speculative calendar of the novels events in the late eighteenth century.nbsp; In addition to the 1818 text, this cultural edition features the introduction to and a sample revision of the 1831 version.nbsp;Fans of Science Fiction and Gothic Literature.nbsp;

Susan J. Wolfson is a professor of English at Princeton University and author of many essays on and editions of Romantic-era writers. Her books include The Questioning Presence; Formal Charges: The Shaping of Poetry in British Romanticism; and, most recently, Borderlines: The Shiftings of Gender in British Romanticism.

List of Illustrations
About Longman Cultural Editions
About This Edition
Introduction
Table of Dates Frankenstein; or, The Modern Prometheus (1818)
Volume I
Volume II
Volume III from Frankenstein: or, The Modern Prometheus (1831)
M. W. S.s Introduction
Some Additions to Robert Waltons first letters
Some Additions and Revisions to Victor Frankensteins Narrative
Victors childhood and the adoption of Elizabeth Victors enchantment with occult science and his encounter with modern science Victors departure for University of shy;Ingolstadt Clervals straits Victor meets Professors Krempe and Waldman Victors health suffers Elizabeths report on Ernest Frankenstein Clervals lament for William Victors anguish over Justine and William shy;Victors continuing agony [Creatures story of framing Justine] Victors plans for a second creature Clervals imperial ambitions Victors apprehensions for his family, his longing for oblivion Victors secret Contexts
Monsters, Visionaries, and Mary Shelley Aesthetic Adventures Edmund Burke on the Sublime and the Beautiful Mary Wollstonecraft on Burkes genderings William Gilpin on the Picturesque Samuel Taylor Coleridge, from The Rime of the Ancyent Marinere (1798) Mary Wollstonecraft, from Maria, or The Wrongs of Woman: Jemimas story Mary Godwin (Shelley), from her journal of 1815: the death of her first baby Percy Bysshe Shelley, from Alasto; or, The Spirit of Solitude Mary Shelley, with Percy Bysshe Shelley, from History of a Six Weeks Tour: Alpine scenery Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mont Blanc George Gordon, Lord Byron from Manfred, A Dramatic Poem from Childe Harolds Pilgrimage, Canto the Third: Alpine thunderstorm Leigh Hunt, from Blue-Stocking Revels, or The Feast of the Violets Dr. Benjamin Spock, from Baby and Child Care The Story-Telling Compact George Gordon, Lord Byron, A Fragment John William Polidori, The Vampyre God, Adam, and Satan Genesis: chapters 2 and 3 (King James Bible) John Milton, from Paradise Lost William Godwin, from Political Justice George Gordon, Lord Byron, Prometheus William Hazlitt, remarks on Satan, from Lectures on the English Poet Percy Bysshe Shelley from Prometheus Unbound from A Defence of Poetry Richard Brinsley Peake, Frankenstein, A Romantic Drama in Three Acts
Reviews and Reactions
[John Wilson Croker], Quarterly Review, January 1818
[Walter Scott], Blackwoods Edinburgh Review, March 1818
(Scots) Edinburgh Magazine and Literary Miscellany, March 1818
Belle Assemblee, March 1818
British Critic, April 1818
Gentlemans Magazine, April 1818
Monthly Review, April 1818
Literary Panorama, June 1818
Blackwoods Edinburgh Magazine, March 1823
London Morning Post, reviews of Peakes Frankenstein, July 1823
George Canning, remarks in Parliament, March 1824
Knights Quarterly Magazine, August 1824
London Literary Gazette, 1831
[Percy Bysshe Shelley, posthumous], Anthenum, November 1832
Frankentalk: Frankenstein in the Popular Press of Today
Further Reading and Viewing

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×