What Are You Looking At? The Surprising, Shocking, and Sometimes Strange Story of 150 Years of Modern Art

ISBN-10: 0142180297
ISBN-13: 9780142180297
Edition: N/A
Authors: Will Gompertz
List price: $20.00 Buy it from $15.18
30 day, 100% satisfaction guarantee

If an item you ordered from TextbookRush does not meet your expectations due to an error on our part, simply fill out a return request and then return it by mail within 30 days of ordering it for a full refund of item cost.

Learn more about our returns policy

Description: In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humorEvery year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, “Is this art?” A former director at London’s Tate Gallery  More...

New Starting from $16.85
what's this?
Rush Rewards U
Members Receive:
coins
coins
You have reached 400 XP and carrot coins. That is the daily max!
You could win $10,000

Get an entry for every item you buy, rent, or sell.

Study Briefs

Limited time offer: Get the first one free! (?)

All the information you need in one place! Each Study Brief is a summary of one specific subject; facts, figures, and explanations to help you learn faster.

Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Art Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of World Philosophies Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
American History Volume 1 Online content $4.95 $1.99
Add to cart
Study Briefs
History of Western Music Online content $4.95 $1.99

Customers also bought

Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading
Loading

Book details

List price: $20.00
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 9/24/2013
Binding: Paperback
Pages: 464
Size: 5.50" wide x 8.50" long x 1.25" tall
Weight: 1.650
Language: English

In the tradition of Eats, Shoots & Leaves, art history with a sense of humorEvery year, millions of museum and gallery visitors ponder the modern art on display and secretly ask themselves, “Is this art?” A former director at London’s Tate Gallery and now the BBC arts editor, Will Gompertz made it his mission to bring modern art’s exciting history alive for everyone, explaining why an unmade bed or a pickled shark can be art—and why a five-year-old couldn’t really do it. Rich with extraordinary tales and anecdotes, What Are You Looking At? entertains as it arms readers with the knowledge to truly understand and enjoy what it is they’re looking at.

List of Illustrations
Preface
Introduction: What Are You Looking At?
The Fountain, 1917
Pre-Impressionism: Getting Real, 1820-70
Impressionism: Painters of Modern Life, 1870-90
Post-Impressionism: Branching Out, 1880-1906
C�zanne: The Father of Us All, 1839-1906
Primitivism, 1880-1930/Fauvism, 1905-10: Primal Scream
Cubism: Another Point of View, 1907-14
Futurism: Fast Forward, 1909-19
Kandinsky / Orphism / Blue Rider: The Sound of Music, 1910-14
Suprematism / Constructivism: The Russians, 1915-25
Neo-Plasticism: Gridlock, 1917-31
Bauhaus: School Reunion, 1919-33
Dadaism: Anarchy Rules, 1916-23
Surrealism: Living the Dream, 1924-45
Abstract Expressionism: The Grand Gesture, 1943-70
Pop Art: Retail Therapy, 1956-70
Conceptualism / Fluxus / Arte Povera / Performance Art: Mind Games, 1952 Onward
Minimalism: Untitled, 1960-75
Postmodernism: False Identity, 1970-89
Art Now: Fame and Fortune, 1988-2008-Today
Artworks by Location
Acknowledgments
Illustration Credits
Index

×
Free shipping on orders over $35*

*A minimum purchase of $35 is required. Shipping is provided via FedEx SmartPost® and FedEx Express Saver®. Average delivery time is 1 – 5 business days, but is not guaranteed in that timeframe. Also allow 1 - 2 days for processing. Free shipping is eligible only in the continental United States and excludes Hawaii, Alaska and Puerto Rico. FedEx service marks used by permission."Marketplace" orders are not eligible for free or discounted shipping.

Learn more about the TextbookRush Marketplace.

×